Teesdale Sixth Form

Mewhort scholarships awarded

Date Published:
Tuesday 12 September 2017
Mewhort scholarships awarded
Mewhort scholarships awarded

Teesdale School and Sixth Form is delighted to announce the winners of the Mewhort Scholarships for 2017.

The scholarship is a unique opportunity exclusive to sixth form students at Teesdale School who have achieved academic excellence and made a valuable contribution to the life of the school and wider community. Ella Blackburn was awarded the top prize of £1,500 for each year of her undergraduate study.

Ella’s academic excellence was confirmed by her A*s in English literature and history and A in French. She is moving on to read history at St. Catharine’s College Cambridge. The Mewhort Trustees were impressed with Ella’s passion for the subject and the many ways she has engaged with it during her time at the school.

Sam Holmes, Katherine Harding, Kyle Ritchie and Alex Jeffries were each awarded £1,000 per year of undergraduate study.  

Sam’s impressive sciences and maths ability shone through in his interview as did Alex’s passion for improving farming and helping her local community.

Katherine has had a real impact throughout her time at the school helping younger students to achieve their goals and improve their confidence through performing arts whilst Kyle looks forward to a year of study in Spain as part of his Combined Honours degree.

Wendy Greenfield, Chair of the Mewhort Trustees said: “It is fantastic that the scholarships continue to reward the academic excellence of students in the sixth form and give them some financial help to go further and achieve even more.” Indeed, another group of Mewhort Scholars graduated this year with First Class Honours degrees. Sarah Bedwell in architecture and Jack Holguin who is now pursuing a physics PhD thesis on dark matter.